Requirement for Marriage License
COUPLES MUST APPEAR IN PERSON. -Completing the online form only begins the request and does not constitute an issuance of a marriage license. You both must submit your social security number. If you are not a US citizen you must submit your passport book number and Country of issuance. If you were previously married you must supply the date of divorce, death or annulment. Please be advised that your name, address, telephone number and date of birth are public record and available upon request.
The marriage license is valid for 60 days and if you do not marry within that period (60 days), you will be required to purchase a new license. No refunds or extensions are permitted.
APPLICATION FEE: . The standard application fee is $86.00.
AGE: You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage license on your own behalf. If you are 17 years of age, you can acquire a license with a signed and notarized “Certificate of Consent” form signed by your parents or legal guardians.
PROPER IDENTIFICATION: One of the following forms of identification is required for each party applying for a marriage license: Valid U.S. State Driver’s License, Valid Passport, Valid U.S. State ID Card, Valid Alien Registration Card, or a Valid U.S. Military ID card.
FLORIDA RESIDENTS HAVE A (3) THREE DAY WAITING PERIOD AFTER APPLYING: If one or both parties is a Florida Resident, the couple must wait three (3) three days before the marriage license goes into effect or take a 4-hour premarital preparation course to waive the (3) three day waiting period. Taking the premarital preparation course also lowers the fee from the standard $86.00 to $61.00 . To receive a waiver of the (3) three day waiting period, a premarital preparation course must be completed within one year prior to obtaining a marriage license and a valid certificate of completion must be presented to the Clerk's Office. The course certificate must include the length of the course (number of hours) and how the course was provided (by personal instruction, videotape instruction, instruction via other electronic medium, or a combination of those methods).
The premarital course provider must be registered with the Lee County Clerk’s Office. The Lee County Clerk’s Office has a list of premarital preparation course providers registered with Lee County. The Lee County Clerk’s Office does not provide the premarital preparation course.
FAMILY LAW HANDBOOK: The State of Florida requires that both applicants read the Family Law Handbook provided by the Clerk. You may access the English Family Law Handbook or Manual de Derecho Familiar. Each applicant must sign the affidavit of compliance attesting to having read the handbook. This statement must be signed in front of a Deputy Clerk.
WAITING PERIOD: The State of Florida requires that Florida Residents wait three calendar days from the date the license is issued before it can be used. This requirement does not apply to applicants if both parties are not Florida Residents. the following per Florida Statute 741.07:
MARRIAGE CEREMONY: Marriage ceremonies may be performed by the following per Florida Statute 741.07: A regularly ordained minister or other ordained clergy; Elders in communion with some church; all judicial officers (judges) Clerks of Circuit Court and their deputies Notaries Public of the State of Florida In addition, the law provides that marriages may be performed among “Quakers” or “Friends,” in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.
A Deputy Clerk of the Lee County Recording Department can perform the marriage ceremony for you in the Clerk of Courts Recording Office. The fee for the ceremony is $30.00 and you can have the marriage ceremony performed in the office between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
HOURS OF OPERATION: The Lee County Clerk of Courts Recording department is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. You can apply for a license between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.